SKIP TO PAGE CONTENT

Residency Requirement

Residency Requirement

If you reside in Mississippi, but attended an out-of-state college or high school you must prove Mississippi Residency. Residency must be proved  on the parent if the student is under 21. 

If the student is under 21: 

Students indicating attendance at an out of state high school and/or college are required to prove Mississippi residence for  tuition purposes.   Mississippi Law mandates that the residence of a student  under the age 21 and unmarried is that of the parents .  Documentation of residence of the parent or parents who are physically residing in the Mississippi must be provided to the Office of Admissions.  If you have any questions call 662-720-7239.

List of Approved Residency Documents

In cases where residency documentation is required,  two forms of supporting documentation must be in the file. Acceptable supporting documentation may include:

  • Current MS Driver’s License or State issued ID (Persons moving into MS on a permanent basis have 60 days per state law to acquire driver’s licenses.)
  • Mortgage document matching address
  • Homestead exemption matching address
  • Guardianship documents (issued by a MS Court or the MS Department of Human Services)
  • Emancipation documents
  • Prior or Prior-prior year State income tax return
  • Current Mississippi Registration Card
  • Current Motor vehicle registration (Persons moving into MS on a permanent basis have 30 days per state law to register vehicles.)
  • Current employment documents (last pay stub, employment contract)
  • Current utility bills (includes cell phones) matching address
  • Lease agreement (signed by lessor and lessee).
  • Signed statement by the MS Dept. of Human Services or a certified letter from recognized relief agency (such as the Salvation Army) certifying that the student is receiving services as a homeless MS resident.

If the student is over 21: 

Students indicating attendance at an out of state high school and/or college are required to prove Mississippi residence for tuition purposes.  Mississippi State Law mandates that residence of a student over age 21 or married may be that of the student.  Documentation of your physical domicile, where you actually live, must be provided to the Office of Admissions.  If you have any questions please call 662-720-7239.

List of Approved Residency Documents

In cases where residency documentation is required,  two forms of supporting documentation  must be in the file. Acceptable supporting documentation may include:

  • Current MS Driver’s License or State issued ID (Persons moving into MS on a permanent basis have 60 days per state law to acquire driver’s licenses.)
  • Mortgage document matching address
  • Homestead exemption matching address
  • Guardianship documents (issued by a MS Court or the MS Department of Human Services)
  • Emancipation documents
  • Prior or Prior-prior year State income tax return
  • Current Mississippi Registration Card
  • Current Motor vehicle registration (Persons moving into MS on a permanent basis have 30 days per state law to register vehicles.)
  • Current employment documents (last pay stub, employment contract)
  • Current utility bills (includes cell phones) matching address
  • Lease agreement (signed by lessor and lessee).
  • Signed statement by the MS Dept. of Human Services or a certified letter from recognized relief agency (such as the Salvation Army) certifying that the student is receiving services as a homeless MS resident.

Residency documents should be submitted to the attention of:

Chassie Kelly
cmkelly@nemcc.edu



Students must resolve all residency challenges with the Office of Enrollment Services prior to enrollment.